Still in Ghana MTC

Alright, so it turns out that I was told falsely last week about leaving the MTC five days early. That means that currently I am still hanging out at the Sweet Prison. Although, on the bright side I will be heading for the airport in roughly one and a half hours. My flight is actually kind of interesting though, I will be first heading for Kenya, and from there I will fly to Congo. But yeah, I was kinda disappointed, but it turned out to be a pretty good week regardless. At least I don’t have to stay here for a whole extra week like one of my companions (total of seven weeks).

So this week we got four new missionaries from the states, who due to some visa issues were unable to get here at the start. So yeah currently we have nine white, I mean American, elders here. Which is probably the most white people I’ve seen in one place for six weeks.

Also this week’s sacrament meeting was fairly interesting for a few different reasons. First of all our district was in charge of preparing the sacrament so I had the opportunity to bless the sacrament for the first time in French. So that was a pretty cool and spiritually uplifting experience. After that they called the names of those who would speak for the day. The way they do it at the Ghana MTC is that everyone prepares a talk and those who speak are called randomly during the service. So yeah, I bet you can’t guess who had to give a talk today. It went pretty good though, the Francophone missionaries said that they could pretty much understand everything and that they felt the spirit, so that made me really happy. Although I do think that many of them were just trying to be nice.

We also were able to have a health meeting this week, which gave us information about how to avoid sickness in the field. Half of this meeting was dedicated to malaria, which freaked out the white missionaries, but the African missionaries were all just like “whateves, I’ve gotten it before.” But yeah, so that was pretty helpful, and I got my handy dandy filtered water bottle.

Hmmmmm this week wasn’t very eventful, much of the same ole stuff. I’ve just been really anxious to go. Although I will miss a lot of elders and sisters that I’ve come to know and love these past weeks, I can say with absolute certainty that I am ready to leave the ole Sweet Prison. That’s about it for this week, I’ll make sure however to write more next week.(;

Au Revoir

-Elder Thomas

Leave a Reply

