2 Weeks in Congo

Hip happity Thanksgiving yall!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I suppose its a wee bit late, but I hope that you are all entering into the holidays with all the happiness in the world.

Our Thanksgiving here in Congo consisted of chicken and foufou. Oh my goodness foufou is one of my favorite foods right now. Here in the Talangai appartment we eat it almost every night. In fact Elder Mongo taught me how to make it. In case you don’t know what foufou is, foufou is a super dense ball of ground up corn and manioc (a type of root) that is dipped in some sort of sauce. It is a staple for almost any country in Africa.

This week was really amazing, and I had the chance to learn and to grow so much. At the begining of the week I was also able to have missionary orientation day. We were unable to have it earlier because President was in South Africa. So I was finally able to meet president, and wow, he is such a spiritual man. He was able to tell me exactly what I needed to know. After the ole orientation we went to president’s house and had a really good meal of sloppy joes, which took me by suprise because it is super American. Another thing that took me by suprise is that Elder Cicon, The other American Elder in our appartment, told me that president was really really suprisingly tall. So I was really taken aback when he was half a foot taller than Danny Devito. But he is really just the most amazing guy.

Ooooooo one of the more grave things to happen this week, was that I forgot to wear bugspray for about twenty four hours. During that time I got about fifty mosquito bites on my right arm alone. But, my spirits have been so high here that even that can’t dampen them.

Also that bug bite scenario led to a pretty darn tender experience. During one of our lessons with this family of four girls (all of which remind me of Ally, Sam, Jaida, and Jessie) it was pointed out that my arm was filled with Mosquito bites. So in a latter lesson with their dad alone, one of the girls who was about five, and who reminds me a ton of Jaida, came up to me and gave me a fan that she made for me so that I could protect myself from the mosquitos.

I love every aspect of Congo, sometimes I look up and think to myself how lucky I am to be here. Its kinda funny, all the kids, while me and my companion are climbing down a hill from one of our lessons, will shout out chinoix and race towards us to say bonjour chinoix, or to hug my leg. Also during our lessons you can really feel a desire within the investigator to learn more it’s really amazing.

I also feel like I’m really progressing with the language as well. My comprehension is leaps and bounds from where I started, just because of how used to the accent I’m getting. But I still have a whole long way to go before I get a degree of comfort with the language.

Ooooo fun fact, our curfew is 6:00 because we there is a gang here in Brazzaville called belle noir that goes around chopping people with machetes. But I don’t think that they are that prominent and I wish we could stay out longer. But it is all good, by the time we finish a day I’m pretty pooped from all the hiking.

Also here in Brazzaville the roads are crazy, we take these “busses” wherever we go. They are more like vans that are packed to the brim with people and driven like mariocart carts.

There is also so much green and brush here, the hills are covered in vegitation and the sand is the softest sand I’ve ever stepped in.

I’m gonna end here for this week, although I could probably write a novel filled with amazing experiences and insights here.

Au revoir

-Elder Thomas

Leave a Reply

