Bonjour Bonjour Bonjour!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bonjour Bonjour Bonjour!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I pooped in a hole, that’s probably the most exciting news of the week, haha just kidding. This week was filled to the brim with amazing and spiritually uplifting experiences.
One of my favorite series of lessons was with an amis (what we call investigators here, it means friend) named Frere Antoin. You can really feel the spirit and his desire to learn resonating from him. He also has really cool blue eyes, and has been progressing, and reading the book of mormon a lot. Even when during one of our lessons his son, who is a brahamanist (a really annoying church who love to argue about obscure scriptures) tried to interfere he remained interested and faithful to our lesson. I look forward a lot to our lessons with him, and I have a sincere feeling that he will be baptized fairly soon.
Also I ate at an investigator’s house for the first time this week, she prepared foufou with this really weird and spicy pig intestine. It was fairly interesting, but also a very good experience. Her name is Soeur Yassmin and she has been progressing lately very well. She loves to sing too so whenever we go over we will sing hymns to open and close the lesson. My companion loves to sing too which is good because I definitely don’t have the skills to solo.
Oh yeah, so I pooped in a hole this week, that’s probably not my proudest moment, but I did regardless. Me and my companion were fairly far from our apartment, and the three mangoes that I had eaten for breakfast backfired on me. So we asked an amis, Frere Romell, to use his bathroom, which was basically a hole. So yeah fun times, fun times.
A fun experience came when we visited an amis by the name of Frere Albert. He was in need of a priesthood blessing, so we gave him the blessing along with a lesson. His son, Christ, was there too, he is about two years old and really pudgy and cute. He was also super shy at first, but then we shook hands and I showed him how to do bones with an explosion (the Big Hero 6 style). He just started giggling uncontrollably, and insisted that we do bones like ten times. His mom was watching, and was laughing too, so yeah now me and Christ are pals.
Something interesting and rather annoying about the culture here is that when someone dies it is custom to mourn. However it’s not like our mourning, the mourner goes into the street, and cries (screams) at the top of their lungs for everyone to hear. We had a lady who mourned every morning for at least four hours for three days. It was a rather annoying few days of study.
Something else that was fairly exciting that happened this week was that we held my first baptismal session. It is so spiritually uplifting to see these people come forth into the waters of baptism, with their tattered baptismal clothes, and smiling faces. We baptized Soeur Flora, Gloria, Christavie, and Benis, two of which were our amis.
I love the people so much, and I especially love our amis and our members. The work is progressing here, and I am so lucky to be a part of it.
Au Revoir
Elder Thomas
Leave a Reply

